Finding a restaurant

Finding a restaurant in a Korean city is easy – there must be dozens within a 100 metre radius of my apartment and well over a hundred within easy walking distance. Finding a restaurant in which I want to eat is more difficult. Tonight I set off for my favourite restaurant. I’m no connoisseur, but it’s close, the meals are varied and delicious, and most items are W4,000-W6,000 (about $5).

But it was shut – I don’t know whether just for today for some reason, or for ever. So I had to find another one. Another restaurant I often get lunch at is always shut on Saturday nights. (Possibly the owners are Seventh Day Adventists.) Requirements: tables and chairs, and not sitting on the floor; not cooking your own meal in the centre of the table; menu items in English, or with big photos; reasonably priced; not a coffee shop, cafe or chicken and hof; not pizza (I like pizza once in a while, but not tonight). Very few – I wandered up and down side streets and a portion of the main street without success. Then I remembered the Chinese restaurant opposite the university gate, and ended up there. A bit pricey – W12,000, but everything else checked. I hope that the first restaurant hasn’t gone out of business.

(BTW Rumour has it that only Chinese students and foreign teachers eat at the Chinese restaurant.)

(PS I can’t remember that I’ve ever written the word ‘connoisseur’ before. I certain had no idea how to spell it, except that my first attempts obviously didn’t look right, even before the red line came up. I wonder how long it will be before I write it again.)

Update: today I wandered past and it was open, so I was getting too worried for nothing. I sometimes do that.

Second update: According to the Korea Herald, South Korea is ‘the republic of chicken‘.

 

3 thoughts on “Finding a restaurant

  1. A hof is the closest equivalent to a pub (it is an abbreviation of Hofbräuhaus). The primary function is drinking, usually beer or soju. But no-one goes there just to drink. The secondary function is eating – the expectation is that you *will* buy food, usually chicken, but sometimes a variety of Korean food. The foods available are more prominently displayed, inside and out, than the drinks. If you don’t buy food, they’ll serve basic snacks to you anyway, usually peanuts or processed/extruded snacks – the more drinks you buy the more they serve you, up to and including dried squid. But no-one goes there just to eat (except maybe a non-drinker in a group).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wondered if hof was short for hofbrauhaus, but decided it wasn’t because in the US a haufbrau is usually known for sausages, kraut, and beer. There is often loud music of the polka on accordion variety. Not exactly my kind of place.

      Like

Leave a Reply

