present perfect, irregular verbs

Yesterday, the textbook introduced present perfect tense, and today I had to thoroughly revise irregular verbs. Present perfect is often difficult for learners of English as a second language firstly because it does not exist in many other languages, and secondly because it requires past participles, the most common ones of which are irregular.

I was very naughty. I said to them “If you can’t remember these past participles, just say:

‘I have go’ (base form)
or
‘I have goed’ (a past simple form created by adding the standard past tense -ed to the base form)
or
‘I have went’ (the standard irregular past tense form)
but saying
‘I have gone’ is best because it’s correct.”

In fact, I might have suggested that they forget about present perfect completely. Yes, there are differences in meaning between past simple and present perfect, but 99% of the time a second language learner would get away with past simple rather than present perfect.

In the evening, I went to choir practice. I was chatting to someone when someone else nearby sneezed. The person I was talking to said ‘Sorry, can you repeat that. [Name] snoze.’ (Wiktionary records it (as ‘nonstandard, humorous‘)!)

Leave a Reply

