Singing in video game languages

Last Sunday I sang in Hebrew, Finnish, Italian, Latin and English with one choir. Yesterday I sang in various video-game languages with another. Most of the concert was movie music played by the orchestra but towards the end we joined them for ‘On Earth as it is in Heaven’ by Ennio Morricone (from The Mission) (Latin with a grammatical mistake, as far as I can figure), and five video game themes, two of which game series I’d even so much as heard of, and none of which titles or music I knew. One was in simply vocalised (oo, ah, ee), another was in Latin and two had relatively short passages in video game languages alongside vocalisation (in both) and Latin (in one, the longest work we sang). The last (‘Song of the Dragonborn‘ from The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim) was in video game language throughout, moderate in length but very fast with a lot of words. I sang more words wrong than right.

I first searched for video game languages and got general information about general video game languages. Our conductor suggested I search for the name of a specific game. I searched for Dragonborn language and found various references including Wikipedia and a Skyrim wiki.

Creators of languages for video games, television (Game of Thrones) and movies (Avatar) need to make their languages sound unlike any natural language, but speakable and singable by actors and singers. For more information. (The hierarchy is constructed language (conlang) > artistic language (artlang) > fictional language.)

Leave a comment