Oooh, I know her … oh no, I don’t

After seeing the Korean movie Parasite (spoilers) a few weeks ago, I just happened to see the DVD of the movie Burning (spoilers)/trailer at my local library. I don’t know if Korean movies are prone to unresolved endings, but these two certainly both have one.

One minor plot point is that the protagonist’s mother left him, his sister and their father many years ago, as a result of his father’s anger and violence. Towards the end of the movie, she suddenly rings him and they meet in a cafe. 

The first time I watched the movie, I didn’t notice anything unusual, but the second time I suddenly thought ‘Gosh, she looks like my sister-in-law’. It just might be that all middle-aged Korean women look the same to me, but I showed my wife that part and she said ‘Oh, she looks like my sister’. But it’s not her sister. It’s no-one remotely well known; even Korean Wikipedia doesn’t have a page on her. 

(I just tried it with our niece (my wife’s brother’s daughter), and she totally didn’t think the actress looks like her aunt.)

Leave a comment